Fat Free Spiced Banana Bread Muffins (1 WW Point)

I’m torn. It happens every year when August rolls around, with school looming ever closer (though I only have one more year of that nonsense) and the last days of sunshine waving goodbye. Yet, with Fall just around the corner, I’m beginning to absolutely buzz with excitement!

Fall is my favorite time of the year. Crunchy leaves, sweaters, Halloween, apple cider, caramel apples, hot drinks (Chai!), stews, candy corn, pumpkin pancakes, pumpkin cookies, pumpkin EVERYTHING….oh yeah….Did I mention that I really love Fall food? Because I do. A lot. And the best thing about Fall food? Spices.

This adventure started a little while ago when I was in the middle of making my usual Weight Watchers-friendly Banana Bread (which I addled a bit from this recipe) when I thought: Wait, why isn’t there cinnamon in here, again?

So I added some cinnamon, no big deal. I loved it, my mother seemed impressed, and my sister didn’t have anything to complain about (so I must have done something right). So this time, I was about to do the same thing when I decided it was about time to go big or go home. Also, I love me some dark brown sugar (because…it’s delicious, I don’t have any other reason…) so I threw some of that in there, too.

Apart from the sugar, these guys are pretty dang healthy as they have essentially no fat. Feel free to substitute the sugar for 1 cup of Splenda, though. I typically avoid artificial sweeteners because of my GERD and Fibromyalgia.

So here they are, my new spiced-up, get-you-ready-for-Fall, Fat Free Spiced Banana Bread Muffins.

These can be baked with or without liners, just spray or grease the tin really well!

Fat Free Spiced Banana Bread Muffins (1 WW Point)

Ingredients:

2 extra-ripe bananas
3/4 cup white granulated sugar (or 1 cup Splenda no brown sugar)
1/4 cup dark brown sugar
1/2 cup applesauce
1/4 cup pure maple syrup
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon cloves
1/4 teaspoon allspice
1 teaspoon vanilla

Instructions:

Heat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Mash bananas in a medium-sized bowl. Add sugar and mix.
Mix in the rest of the ingredients, being careful not to over-mix.
Fill cupcake tin 3/4 full (if not using liners, grease well), and bake for
25-30 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

2 thoughts on “Fat Free Spiced Banana Bread Muffins (1 WW Point)

Leave a Reply

