No-Machine 2-Ingredient Ice Cream: Pumpkin and Blueberry

Okay, so I know that I’m not the only person without an ice cream maker who has ever been desperate to make ice cream. I also know that I’m not the only person who has ever heard of this recipe, but if you haven’t, I guess you’ve come to the right place.

This recipe is ridiculously simple. I’ve seen it in a few different places, so I’m not exactly sure who to credit with the idea, just know that I didn’t think it up from scratch. The coolest thing about this way to make ice cream is the way that you can put absolutely anything you want in it. Seriously. Anything.

So of course, since pumpkin ice cream is just about my favorite thing ever, I had to try making it. It’s also blueberry season here in Downeast Maine, so all of those hand-picked blueberries needed to be used somehow.

This recipe works out to be 4 Weight Watchers points per 1/2 cup, by the way.

The first thing you need to do is make your ice cream base. This requires just plain whipping cream and a can of sweetened condensed milk. I used fat free.

You’re going by to start by taking your cold whipping cream and beating it on medium speed until soft peaks form.

Once you have your soft peaks, turn the mixer to low speed and add in your cold condensed milk. Here’s where you can add vanilla extract if you want. You can also try any other extract; mint, orange, almond, whatever!

At this point, the plain base is done. Leave it as is if you’re wanting to make plain vanilla.

Or….

Add some blueberries!

I just folded in a little over a handful of fresh blueberries, but you could also used blueberry jam or preserves.

To avoid crystallization, take plastic wrap and seal everything tight. Then seal your container with a lid.

If you’re looking to make pumpkin ice cream, here’s what to do:

Take some of your ice cream base and add your pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice, and cinnamon (I like extra cinnamon).

Same deal. Seal it up and pop it in the freezer!

You should end up with something as beautiful and delicious as this.

no-machine ice cream

No-machine pumpkin ice cream

Leave a Reply

