DIY Spiced Bath Bomb (Pumpkin?!?!)

Finally, it’s time for something other than food! Bath bombs. Homemade ones.

Here’s something fun that I was excited to try out, especially after I found a recipe that doesn’t require citric acid (which I can’t get anywhere around me right now…). Using cream of tartar instead doesn’t get you as dramatic of a fizzing effect as citric acid would, but it still works if you’re in a pinch.

If you can get your hands on some citric acid, though (you should be able to at Wal-Mart or in the canning section of most grocery stores), just times the amount by 2.

I found the base of this recipe here and then made my own adjustments.

What you’ll need is:

  • 2 tablespoons baking soda
  • 1 tablespoon of citric acid (or 1/2 tablespoon cream of tartar)
  • 1 tablespoon of cornstarch
  •  1 tablespoon Epsom salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon oil (this can be any oil you like)
  • 3/4 teaspoon liquid (I used plain water)
  • some drops of food coloring

That’s the base. If you want to add some extra goodies like me, like scents and color, you’re going to want essential oils and/or spices and food coloring. I used cinnamon powder, powdered all spice, powdered nutmeg, powdered cloves, and pumpkin pie extract. Note that extracts are not the same as essential oils, and so they’re not typically recommended, but it can add some scent if you use a good amount of it.

I also used eucalyptus scented epsom salt in mine.

img_1736

Start off by combining your epsom salt, corn starch, cream of tartar, and baking soda in a bowl.

img_1737

Then add in your spices.

In another bowl, combine your oil, water, extract/oil, and food coloring. I used olive oil and red and yellow food coloring. Next time I think I’ll use more food coloring because the water didn’t change as much as I was hoping it would.

Slowly add in the liquid mixture while whisking. Be especially careful if you’re using citric acid because you don’t want it to react too much here and then be useless for the bath. Whisk until it look like wet sand and you can press it together with your hands.

I didn’t have many options when it came to molds, so I decided to use two little pumpkins and an old gatcha container. One batch of this recipe makes two of these small pumpkins.

If using something that has two sides (like a gatcha container or an easter egg), make sure to fill the mold with as much extra mixture as you can before tightly closing it. Otherwise the two sides will not stick together. I, unfortunately, didn’t have enough of my last batch to do this and, as expected, the two sides separated.

Fill the molds with your mixture and press down FIRMLY. You might be surprised how much of it you use up in just one mold.

Let them sit overnight or pop them in the freezer for a few hours.

Then you’re done!

Leave a Reply

