Easy Skinny Mini Cinnamon Rolls (Using Pillsbury Crecent Rolls!) and Cream Cheese Icing (2 WW Points)

So here’s the deal. I have been wanting to properly make cinnamon rolls, from scratch, since probably September. It’s been on my “list of things to bake”. However, cinnamon roll dough takes a lot of love, time, and COUNTER SPACE, which while I’m at school I don’t really have.

Fast-forward to last week or so when I was trying to brainstorm what kind of things would be easy to just pop in the toaster oven that wasn’t totally horrible for me (like pre-made cookie dough) and I remembered that I had made some pretty tasty reduced-fat ham and cheese crescent rolls over the summer that took very little time and effort. I figured I could either make those, or switch up the fillings with other meats, or even make it sweet like…a cinnamon roll filling. Clearly, my longing for cinnamon rolls hasn’t waned in the slightest over the past few months.

At first, I was going to keep the rolls in their original shape ya know, just put in the butter, cinnamon, and sugar and roll them like normal in the same way that I made my ham and cheese rolls. That was until I rolled them out, looked at the doughy rectangle in front of me, and realized that I could put my mini muffin tin to work in a way that would not only look more like cinnamon rolls, but cut back on the weight watchers points per serving as well!

Honestly, it wasn’t until I already had this baking that I realized I was missing something: icing. But what did I have to make icing with??

I peeked in the fridge and saw that I had whipped cream cheese and milk. I had no powdered sugar, and I wasn’t too keen on adding butter, so I thought I’d see what would happen with granulated sugar. It turned out pretty good, though if you have powdered sugar, it might be worth it to use that instead.

Here’s the deal with the WW points, though. This dough, when split into 12, is 1.333… points. All of the other stuff, including the icing, is not enough to equal a point on it’s own. Rounded up, these would probably be around 2 points each.

Like it says in the title, these are ridiculously easy to make. All you’ll need is:

  • 1 pack Pillsbury 90 Calorie Reduced-fat Crescents
  • 1-2 tablespoons Brummel and Brown spread
  • 2 tablespoons cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon white granulated sugar

img_2395

(Yeah yeah, I know it’s lumpy. That’s what happens when you leave a big bag of sugar sitting in your trunk for who knows how long.)

img_2400

Preheat your oven to 375° F.

Spread out your dough flat.

img_2396

Just pinch together the seams as best as you can. It really doesn’t matter if they aren’t absolutely perfect.

img_2397

Spread your Brummel and Brown or other light butter spread evenly all over the dough. The dough itself is pretty buttery, so we don’t need a lot of it.

img_2398

Next, sprinkle your cinnamon.

img_2399

Then your sugar.

img_2401

Roll it up length-wise.

img_2402

In order to make 12 even pieces, start by cutting it in half with a sharp knife. Then cut it into quarters. With each quarter, cut it into thirds, like so.

img_2403

Place them in a greased mini muffin tin. You can also use a small round tin if you want to.

img_2404

After 9-10 minutes, they should come out looking like this!

img_2406img_2411

Mmmmm…

img_2410

Now, I was ready to just eat these on their own, but a little icing never hurts. All you need for the icing is:

  • A splash of milk
  • A dollop of cream cheese, whipped or regular reduced fat is fine, but if it’s regular put less.
  • 1 tablespoon of granulated sugar, or to taste.

img_2405img_2418

And there you have it! Try not to eat them all at once!

img_2412img_2415img_2413img_2414img_2416

Easy Skinny Mini Cinnamon Rolls (Using Pillsbury Crecent Rolls!) and Cream Cheese Icing (2 WW Points)

Prep time: 5 min

Cook time: 9-10 min

Servings : 12

Ingredients:

  • 1 pack Pillsbury 90 Calorie Reduced-fat Crescents
  • 1-2 tablespoons Brummel and Brown spread
  • 2 tablespoons cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon white granulated sugar
  1. Preheat your oven to 375° F.
  2. Spread out your dough flat.
  3. pinch together the seams
  4. Spread light butter spread evenly all over the dough.
  5. sprinkle cinnamon and sugar.
  6. Bake for 9-10 minutes or until cooked through.

—–

Cream Cheese Icing

Ingredients:

  • Splash of milk
  • Dollop of whipped cream cheese
  • Tablespoon of powdered sugar or to taste
  1.  Whisk together to combine.
Leave a Reply

